You were my friend.

Weren’t you?

Then why did you lie to me

And crowned her with truth and honesty

That you deprived me of?

 

You gave her for free

All I had worked my way to earn from you.

I had tried to love you with my life

But you chose her partial company

Every time and anytime- why?

 

I can’t blame you.

I can’t blame her.

Like you still say- It’s my fault.

And it’s to have ever trusted her and you

They have always told me not to.

 

How can she do that to me?

Why would she do that to me?

I had asked myself again and again.

I have hated myself.

I have punished myself.

 

To have ever loved her;

To have ever trusted her;

To have hoped her to be different

From what they say and believe.

But she ain’t.

 

And neither are you.

You blame me for the heartache

You blame me for the mistakes

That came out as a reaction

To her unexpected betrayal

 

A year has gone by

And you still say the same

Why can’t you see what I felt and feel?

Why can’t you see what she did to me?

Why do you still choose her over me?

 

I have been deceived not just by a friend

But someone who shares my blood.

I had called you to my home

I had called you my own- my family

How can you rob me of what I have ever known?

 

You said you have been hurt before-

Shouldn’t that have stopped you from hurting me?

You said you have been deceived before.

Shouldn’t that have stopped you from betraying me?

I had justified you over and again

Yet you kept entrapping me in your games.

 

And you my friend…

 

I had loved you.

And I had loved her.

But now you shall not get the same from me.

I do love you still,

But we will never be all I had hoped us to be.

